#PitchWars 2018 Bio

I’m jumping on the #BoostMyBio bandwagon.

Hi, I’m Jordan. I live in California with my husband and three kids. I’m an avid reader, travel enthusiast, and music lover. My current job title is stay-at-home-mom, so things can get a little crazy around our place.

I wrote my first picture book in grade school, won my first poetry contest in middle school, and received my first writing award in high school. In college (where I received my B.A. in English with an emphasis in creative writing), I worked as a writer and editor for a national magazine.

Since then, I’ve done some freelance editing and contributed to anthologies, periodically rising from the “mommy fog” to bust out a couple of novels. Now that my kids are getting older and more self-sufficient, I feel like it’s finally my time to pursue an active writing career. And boy, am I ready to go!

I’ve written three YA contemporary  romance novels. The first was garbage and will never see the light of day. The second was a good attempt, but needs some work. And as they say, the third time’s the charm, and in this case the charm was a sweet story called PHOENIX FALLING.

(Cue novel aesthetics)

In the aftermath of her father’s bankruptcy and mental breakdown, all seventeen-year-old Phoenix Elliot wants is a new start. After four years in LA, she returns to her hometown in Colorado as a changed person. No longer the nerd her middle-school bullies remember, Phoenix is an Instafamous fashion influencer who’s ready to reconnect with her BFF, dethrone the Homecoming queen, and date the hot quarterback. And popularity pays: the more followers Phoenix gets, the more money she can invest in her father’s new business venture.

A self-proclaimed outcast, Damien is unimpressed by Phoenix’s social media standing. He’d rather spend his days studying constellations and developing film, but he agrees to take Phoenix’s pictures to earn money for college. As Damien spends more time with Phoenix, he begins to see who she really is behind her online facade. His focus shifts from capturing her image to capturing her heart. Unless Damien can convince Phoenix to trust his intentions, he’ll lose his income and any chance at a connection with her.

When someone secretly films and posts a video of Phoenix criticizing her sponsor’s product, brands start canceling their contracts. With Damien by her side, Phoenix plots to expose the person responsible for her downfall, teetering on the edge of becoming a bully herself. But if she can’t maintain her standing in the fashion world, Phoenix could lose everything: her followers, her lifesavings, her best friend, and even her relationship with her father.

PHOENIX FALLING is a YA contemporary romance in dual-POV, complete at 82,000. This mixed-media novel includes texts, Instagram posts, emails, newspaper articles, and maps. It should appeal to fans of Jenny Han’s P.S. I Still Love You and Sandhya Menon’s When Dimple Met Rishi.

And for the visual-minded, here’s a little trailer I put together (because I can’t stop playing the story in my head and want others to see it how I do!).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *